Basic Fire Safety Awareness Course (11 of 20)

Categories Of Fire 

There are five main categories of fire, according to the type of material burning.

    • CLASS A – Common combustibles or solids (wood, paper, cardboard etc.)
    • CLASS B – Liquids and liquefiable solids
    • CLASS C – Gases and liquefiable gases
    • CLASS D – Metal fires
    • CLASS F – Cooking oils (deep fat fryers)


Fires Involving Electricity 

Electrical Fires are not treated as a class of their own, since any fire involving, or started by electrical equipment must, in fact, fall into one of the other categories.

Previous Next